An Apology to Our Adoring Fan

Kate and I have been entirely absent for sometime, and for that I apologize.  Kate is back in school and has an enormous reading load these days.  She is loving her classes and that is just great.  She apparently has a class with, amongst others, an Ubuntu fan/relative of one of their developers.  Ubuntu is a Debian linux based OS that I am particularly fond of, so that is pretty nifty.  Kate’s job search is slow but going, with most all of it taking place online.  The economy, of course, does not have it in the cards for her.  On the side of great news, however, Kate did not have to pay a dime for school this semester, as she was unknowingly awarded additional scholarships and grants at the 11th-hour.  $4300 gets to stay in the bank.

I am doing just fine at work.  As I may have mentioned here, I am now working with a new laptop here at Columbia.  I traded way up from a very out of date Dell to a year old MacBook Pro.  My computer OS of preference is of course Linux, but as the business world is in Windows, I’m glad I get to at least move away from it.  Mac are becoming more popular in the business school, so I am devoting myself to working with the Mac OSX to become as familiar with it as possible.  At least at work.  In addition, I have been working with the admissions office at Fordham to get all of my paperwork squared away.  I am feeling good about my acceptance, but sadly, not about my chances of being ABLE to attend.  Most English MA’s I have looked at (Fordham included, I believe), require a full time commitment.  I would not be able to work at the same time I attend school.  If this is the case, I can hardly see how I will be able to go to school so long as Kate is in and make ends meet.  I need to look into it SOON, but I can scarcely find the time.  More on that as I find out.  I suppose the worst case will be my having to continue working until Kate gets her BA, after which she cant try to support me through school.

Kate and I are trying to plan a trip to the Smoky Mountains in June.  Should all go well, it will be a much apreciated reprieve from the city.

I know I must have more to tell, but I am working and the topics escape me.  If it is of any interest, I have been reading The Crossing by Cormac McCarthy which may be my second favorite of his.  It is the 5th novel of McCarthy’s I have read to date.  In the non-fiction/philosophy world, Kate has endeared me to a Slovanian philisopher and cultural theorist by the name of Slavoj Žižek.

CSims

P.S. – I’m on Facebook after about 2 years away.

~ by beankat on 10 February 2009.

One Response to “An Apology to Our Adoring Fan”

  1. What was your first favorite? No Country, or the Road?

Leave a Reply

 
