Barack Obama

Because my grandmother asked, I am going to dispel a few  Barack Obama rumors, but admittedly using lazy research tactics. Barack Obama was suied by Phil Berg former Deputy Attorney General of Pennsylvania regarding his eligibilty to be president. Judge Richard Barclay Surrick found that Mr. Berg had no basis for his claim. I quote from  Philly.com Daily News

In a 34-page memorandum and opinion, the judge said Berg’s allegations of harm were “too vague and too attenuated” to confer standing on him or any other voters.

Surrick ruled that Berg’s attempts to use certain laws to gain standing to pursue his claim that Obama was not a natural-born citizen were “frivolous and not worthy of discussion.”

The judge also said the harm Berg alleged did “not constitute an injury in fact” and Berg’s arguments to the contrary “ventured into the unreasonable.”

full story here

Berg is not satisfied with this finding and is currently STILL trying to take this to the supreme court. He seems a bit desperate… But the birth certificate has been published on the internet (found here), and with the experts that the judge called in investigation every one with credibility has found that Barack Obama is, in fact, and was born, an American citizen.

For further info: http://www.factcheck.org/elections-2008/born_in_the_usa.html

So there you have it folk. Barack Obama is American by birth, that is if we are still considering Hawaii America.

Also, regardless of what 23% of Texans think, Barack Obama is NOT and I repeat NOT NOT NOT Muslim.

Story of Univ. Texas poll: http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/front/6084678.html

Newsweek proclaims Barack NOT muslim: http://www.newsweek.com/id/143763?from=rss

FackCheck.org finds Barack NOT Muslim: http://www.factcheck.org/elections-2008/sliming_obama.html

The full context in which Barack supposedly admits being Muslim: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXulbariRt8

Also, who is Bill Ayers? The past terrorist that Obama was “palling” around with? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_Ayers From Wiki: “He is now a professor in the College of Education at the University of Illinois at Chicago, holding the titles of Distinguished Professor of Education and Senior University Scholar”  Bill Ayers now a valuable responsible American Citizen, I think we would all admit.

Really, I don’t care who anyone votes for, but I really don’t want people voting for president based on lies, be they about McCain, Palin, or  Obama.  The smears against Obama have been really damaging, I do believe, more so than any of the other canidates and since I make no quams that I, along with Colon Powell and all these other folk, will be voting for Sen. Barack Obama;  I feel doubly compelled to defend him.

But, even if you don’t agree with my vote I think that we should all be able to recognize Sen. Obama as an American who loves his country, and is genuinely concerned for the wellfare of its citizens.  Or, at least as genuine as every white man that has ever run for head cheese has been.

Also: watch McCain get confronted by a lady who is a bit of a nutter. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRq6Y4NmB6U makes me giggle.

~ by beankat on 30 October 2008.

6 Responses to “Barack Obama”

  1. I don’t get it. Why? Why vote? What’s the point? And why vote for one of the two parties? I keep hearing friends and family tell me that they’re voting and it’s like I’m the only one who is not seeing the King’s new clothes… and it’s irritating that everyone else pretends to. Even moreso that they’re *proud* about it like it really makes them special.

    “I’m voting for the red puppet.”
    “Well I’m voting for the blue puppet.”

    You know who I’m voting for? My coffee cup. I’m going to write “coffee cup” on a slip of paper and drop it between some fence boards and hope that coffee cup gets elected. That’s about as productive and prideful of an announcement as “I’m voting for so-and-so” sounds to me.

  2. I do agree with you. I am not really proud of Barack or proud to be voting for him. Not based on his campaign. I am only voting for him because of a couple of comments that he has made that I feel more accurately reflect him. Ironically my favorite comment he made has gotten him in a lot of trouble.
    “It’s not surprising then they get bitter, they cling to guns or religion or antipathy toward people who aren’t like them or anti-immigrant sentiment or anti-trade sentiment as a way to explain their frustrations.”
    When talking about voters in small towns with failing industry, particularly Western Pennsylvania. If he’d made his campaign that frank I would have some sense of pride. But people like bull crap, and people like centrist. That and he at least says he is against torture, and I will take what I can get. But really, I am not proud to be american. I do kinda want to be. I know I don’t have it in me to be patriotic, but it would be nice to feel at least a little happy with something that we do. Maybe once a year Barack will make a really frank statement, and I will be happy with that.

  3. My point is, why vote at all? The electoral college does it. Your vote goes towards the popular vote, and obviously that doesn’t count for jack (2000 election), so why do it at all? And more importantly, why do people speak of it as if it really meant something? And even if we DID have a voice, why does it have to be for 1 of 2 parties? It’s too *easy* to make it seem like “you’re either with us or with them” or “you either believe this or that”. You know? I just don’t want any part of it, and it seems insane to me that anyone else would.

  4. That University of Texas study made me laugh. And then cry.

    But seriously, I don’t think that having Obama get a war criminal (Powell) on board in order to campaign against a war criminal (McCain) should help his cause. It will, but that’s because Americans, after having suffered the dumbing-down “education” provided by the federal government, think we need a “strong” President, which is apparently a President that will cower down before Big Government/Corporatist special interests and refuses to let “principles” or the “Rule of Law” or the “Constitution” get in the way.

    Obama himself has said (in 2001) that the failure of the Civil Rights movement is that it did not completely tear down the Constitutional limitations of the federal government, which he seems to believe is the only source of peace and prosperity. (I want some of the shit he’s smoking!)

    I won’t be voting for President. (I’ll be voting for my House Representative and the Judge for the 14th District of Appeals!) But if I were, I would have no clue what to do.

    Vote for Barr, who makes a mockery of the libertarian movement?

    Obama, who’s Wall Street’s chosen candidate, has his pockets filled with Goldman Sachs contributions (not surprisingly, he voted to bail out these big companies), and who shows every indication that he wishes to expand the government – which is already the biggest, richest, and most powerful government in the history of the planet – because he thinks our problem is that government isn’t intrusive enough???

    McCain, who jokes about his desire to “bomb, bomb, bomb” Iran, who is just as stupid and reckless as our current Ruler, and who nothing positive can be said about (unless you think crashing 3 airplanes, dropping incendiary bombs on civilians, and then being beat up by the people you were trying to murder is virtuous)?

    The best thing about Obama is that he does bring some change (although, it is only cosmetic); the best thing about McCain is that having a Republican President will at least provide some sort of parity in Washington, as the Dems already have the House and the Senate. (It’s most infuriating to me that people can still think the Dems will make things better for everyday people, even though all they’ve done since 2006 is provide an endless supply of taxpayer money to the Bush Regime to slaughter Middle Easterners.)

    You could always make the “lesser of two evils” argument, but that’s not good enough for me. I’d rather vote for someone who isn’t evil at all.

    When it comes to voting for the next God-King of the American Empire, I abstain.

  5. bravo friend. You have certainly hit the nail on the head. Mr. Obama is certainly not going to work to shrink the ridiculous reach of the executive. He certainly won’t make life better for everyday Americans in many ways. In all honesty, I could go on for days in the ways he will disappoint. I would rather not, as it appears he will be the next President. So far has having McCain in place to balance out the Dems, I hardly think that will do much. As you said, the are all butt buddies who care little about sticking to their guns (except in Penn). But of all that has been promised and lied about, I do see federal health care coming, and for the time being, I will take it. I hang on little else, at least for now.
    I know, my support of any such overreaching work is odd, but health care would be one thing if it were egalitarian, but it is what it is because of the insurance system as it is. Rather than regulate, I would like to see an admin which will break down what exist.
    Still, very well said.

  6. Yes, I am tired of what we have. But until we come together and actually try to fight for something that will work for the most people most of the time then this is what we are stuck with. And really, we have only ourselves to blame.
    I am really upset about this election, it is a complete disappointment. I constructed this post mostly to grandmother in the way that we normally converse and that I felt would reach her, but I am glad you guys are interested too.
    And Damon, I think the main reason to vote is for local elections. That is where we are able to enact the most change and directly influence that which most directly effects us.

    -Kate

Leave a Reply

 
